UIMSA Press Holds Awards/Handover Ceremony, Appoints New Board

On the 5th of May, 2024, the University of Ibadan Medical Students’ Association Press held its Awards and Handover Ceremony at the Famewo Common Room, Alexander Brown Hall.

The event, which began at 6 PM, featured the presentation of awards to members of the Press who had distinguished themselves in various capacities during the press year. Among these include:

  • Peter Adeyemo – Journalist of the Year and Best Sports Writer
  • Simeon Okojie – Best Entertainment Writer
  • Sidiq Moshood – Best News Writer
  • Rodiyah Khidir – Best Politics Writer and Best New Writer
  • Precious Sunday – Best Health Writer
  • Akinola Akintayo – Best Interviews and Opinions Writer

There was also an award for the Best Desk which was won by the Sports Desk. Afterwards, members of the outgoing Editorial Board were presented with Awards of Service. This section was concluded by the outgoing Editor-in-Chief, Ifeanyi Achife, giving a vote of thanks, and reiterating his assurance that “the baton of the helm of the Press’ affairs was passing on to capable hands”.

The new administration was sworn in soon afterwards, comprising of:

  • John Eriomala – Editor-in-Chief/Politics Editor
  • Aisha Ibrahim – Deputy Editor-in-Chief (Clinicals)/Health Editor
  • Peter Adeyemo – Deputy Editor-in-Chief (Pre-clinicals)/Sports Editor
  • Igdaliah Otitoola – Board Secretary/ Interviews and Opinions Editor
  • Simeon Okojie – Financial Secretary/Entertainment Editor
  • Moboluwarin Ogunleye – Public Relations Officer/Features Editor
  • Sidiq Moshood – News Editor

The newly-appointed Editor-in-Chief offered some words of appreciation on behalf the Editorial Board. Deliberations and suggestions for the new tenure were made, after which the curtain was drawn on the event.

Moshood Sidiq.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *