Breaking: UIMSA Senate Swears in Treasurer and Financial Secretary

The UIMSA Senate has sworn in Vanessa Ehiorobo and Adedolapo Salami, as Financial Secretary and Treasurer, respectively, during the second ordinary meeting for the tenure held on Saturday, the 11th of May, 2024, at the Famewo Common Room, Alexander Brown Hall.

This ratification took place as a follow-up to the notice sent out by the Public Relations Officer, Mubarak Alimi, for UIMSAites willing to take up said positions, and also, in fulfilment of Article XXIII Sections 23 and 24(a) which require that  in the event that “an elected office becomes vacant by virtue of resignation or otherwise, the vacant office shall be filled within thirty (30) days of occurrence of such vacancies” and that if a bye-election wasn’t held, “in the case of the Executive Council, there shall be an appointment of a member of the Association to the office on the recommendation of the Executive Council and ratification by two-third (2/3) majority of Senators present and voting”. Both Miss Salami and Miss Ehiorobo met the criteria for the latter, having tallied 19 of the available 19 votes from the sitting Senators.

Following their swearing-in, Miss Ehiorobo (2k23) and Miss Salami (2k24), make up the fourth members of their respective classes, on the current Executive Council.

John Eriomala.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also