Department of Nursing Undergoes Expansion, Now a Faculty

The Department of Nursing, University of Ibadan, has officially transitioned into a standalone Faculty, as revealed to the Executives of the Nigerian Universities Nursing Students Association (NUNSA), UI Chapter, in a courtesy visit to the erstwhile Head of Department, Dr. Titilayo Otedola, on Wednesday, 19th of June, 2024. 

The new Faculty will consist of four departments; Departments of Community Health Nursing, Maternal Child Health Nursing, Medical-Surgical Nursing, and Mental Health Nursing. 

According to Precious Ebiaku, NUNSA President, this transition is a product of over fifteen years of efforts from the Department. Speaking with the Press, she said, “There were a lot of hicks and obstacles on the line but it (the expansion) was finally approved by the Senate on May 27th“. She also appreciated the efforts of Dr. Otedola, now Head of the Department of Community Health Nursing, Faculty of Nursing, who was “a major force behind the move

Speaking on changes, she said “This new development doesn’t really affect us, undergraduates, as we’re still going to be doing everything we’re currently doing. It’s majorly for the post-graduates. However, the main effect is that there will be effective and prompt growth of the Faculty which is a huge pride to us“.

Recall that this was previously hinted at by the immediate past Vice-Chancellor of the University, Professor Idowu Olayinka, during the Sod-turning Ceremony for the Department’s 300-seater auditorium on August 1st, 2020.

With this move, the Faculty of Nursing becomes the newest Faculty in the College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, with the prior most recent being the Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences. Nursing was previously part of the Faculty of Clinical Sciences, which will now consist of only Medicine and Surgery and Physiotherapy. 

Related Articles

1 thought on “Department of Nursing Undergoes Expansion, Now a Faculty”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *